01708 741075
  • Time 107.5 fm



All the winners from the Havering Sports Council Awards

All the winners from the Havering Sports Council Annual Awards Presentation Night (Pic-Ron Cook)

The 2021 Havering Sports Council Annual Awards Presentation Night took place at Upminster Golf Club last night.

It looks at all the borough’s best athletes, volunteers and officials who were nominated for each category by the public.  

Eight awards were handed out during the awards ceremony. 

The hurdler Stephanie Okoru won the Junior Competitor of the year. During 2021 she ran the 3rd fastest time ever by a UK under 17 in the and also won the the England Athletics title over 300 metres hurdles. 

Jon Warren took the Competitor of the Year accolade. The tri-athlete, who also gives up some of his own time to coach the youngsters, came tenth overall and first in his age in an Ironman Triathlon. 

Runner Rebecca O’Rourke was awarded Disability Competitor of the Year title, during 2021 the junior won silver over 1,500m at the England Athletics Senior Disability Championships. She also retained her place in the British Athletics Paralympic Development Academy.

Katie Ennis won yet another award when she was awarded Volunteer of the Year, having already taken accolades Volunteer of the Year awards from England Athletics as well as the London Region Award. 

Redden Court Under 12’s Indoor Athletics Team took home the senior school Team of the Year awards; Gidea Park Primary’s Year 5 & 6 girls football team took the primary Team of the Year award. 

Club of the Year went to The Isthmian League side Hornchurch Football Club, who caused an upset by beating National League Hereford United at Wembley to win the FA Trophy.

Moira Barber won the Doug Riden Lifetime Achievement Award, she has been running karate clubs for around 30 years. She carried on through the lockdown over Zoom and as restriction eased she moved in to parks. As her role as an official she has taken teams to Malta, Germany and Scotland and has gained success there.

Runners up on the evening were; Lenny O’Sullivan, Jason Lendon, Oliver Beadle, Angela Eguakhide and the Tigers Junior Football Club. 

For more on this story, and the latest on our other local and national news, listen to Time 107.5FM

Want to read more news ? Read More News

Listen to
Time 107.5 FM
also on

iphone android

Other Stations

Lyca Dilse Radio 1035

Think from your Mind, Listen from your Heart

Lyca Radio 1458

Aapka Apna Radio, Sunte Raho Sunate Raho

Athavan Radio

Athavan Radio, Sunte Raho Sunate Raho

Lyca Desi News

Aapka Lyca Desi, 24 hour news channel

© TIME107.5fm 2015-2022. All rights reserved.